Have you or someone you know been arrested for possession of alcohol by a minor Florida? Have about drinking under age? What about a ticket in Duval County for an alcohol-related crime? Even if a police officer issues you just a ticket or notice to appear citation, you are facing a criminal charge in Florida. You do not want to do anything that would give you an arrest record or affect your ability to expunge your Florida criminal record. If you are facing any criminal charge in Clay, Nassau, Duval, or St. Johns County, talk to a Jacksonville criminal defense attorney before doing anything. Even if your son or daughter has been charged as a juvenile delinquent, a criminal lawyer specializing in the local area can help.
If you or someone you know was arrested for having alcohol as a minor in Florida, there are some things that you need to know about this criminal charge. Florida law prohibits anyone under 21-years-old to be in possession of any alcoholic beverages. This Florida law does not apply to waiters, waitresses, or servers whom are 18 or older and are employed by a licensed business that sells, prepares or provides alcoholic beverages to the public.
It is not always illegal for a person under 21 to drink alcohol. Florida law makes it legal for anyone 18 or older to drink alcohol as part of a required course if the institution is accredited and recognized by the United States Department of Education. The authorized instructor must be 21 years or older and in must be in control of the alcohol during the whole course.
If you are arrested for possession of alcohol by a minor because you are under 21 years old, you will be facing a Florida misdemeanor criminal charge. Florida law gives the following penalties for violating Florida’s Minor In Possession Law:
- First Offense: You will be charged with a second degree misdemeanor. The judge may give you up to $500 as a fine and sentence you to the County Jail for up to 60 days for possession of alcohol by a minor.
- Second Offense: You will be charged with a first degree misdemeanor which could result in a $1,000 fine and one year in the County Jail for this possession of alcohol by a minor charge.
You will also want to talk to a drivers license lawyer about the affect of a possession of alcohol charge. The Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles (Florida DMV or DHSM) will suspend or revoke your Florida driver’s license for under age possession of alcohol. For your first underage alcohol possession charge, your will have a suspended Florida drivers license for at least 6 months and your Florida drivers license could be suspended up to one year. If you need Jacksonville drivers license help, contact a Jacksonville drivers license lawyer at 20 Miles Law.